Business case : VAT control of an E-commerce company

Imagine that you have a VAT audit from the French tax authorities on your e-commerce sales? Here is what could happen if you had not paid French VAT in accordance with the regulations. The regularisation of operations carried out in France can become a real headache. Supporting companies is a matter of pedagogy.

VAT tax inspection on your e-commerce sales: the entry into force of the One-Stop Shop (OSS) does not make you immune.

VAT regularisation in France: Administrative assistance works very well!

Context: we are before the 1st of July 2021 and the reform of the VAT E-commerce One-Stop Shop.

Fiscalead is contacted via its website by a Danish company. Specialising in e-commerce, this company is at a loss when faced with a situation it does not understand. It needed assistance because it urgently needed to regularise its VAT situation in France . Faced with this situation, one of our specialists calls them back within 12 hours. For the sake of the client, you should never waste time on a VAT regularisation. The risk is to accumulate interest for late payment.

So we arrange a telephone conference. During this exchange, we understand that the Danish company has received a notification of a tax audit from the Danish authorities. This concerned its sales to France. The company needs to clarify the situation, especially as it is rigorous in its declarations in Denmark, it believes. 

Following our handling of the case, we understand that this inspection was carried out at the request of the French authorities. They approached the Danish authorities. They requested administrative assistance for our client. Hence the call for help from our company as VAT agent in France.

When it comes to e-commerce VAT, your good faith is not enough

The company had applied Danish VAT to all its B2C online sales without distinction. It had done so even for those destined for private customers residing in France. This was its unknowing mistake. Fiscalead informed the company of its VAT obligations in France: above a certain turnover threshold for French private customers, the company should have invoiced French VAT and not Danish(editor's note: pre-OSS rules). 

The company entrusted us with the keys to its file so that it could concentrate on its business. So, taking over the file, the Fiscalead specialist carried out the formalities for registering for French VAT. At the same time, Fiscalead also registered her with the One-Stop Shop in Denmark. The aim was to stop the haemorrhaging of its VAT non-compliance.

We have studied in depth the French tax authorities' proposed accounting adjustment. To do so, we carried out a thorough review of the company's sales reports. We also had to request access to its information system.

This double analysis allowed the tax base to be reduced:

  • returns of goods 
  • B2B sales for which the customer had provided his French VAT number.

The result: 

  • A significant decrease in the amount of the tax adjustment 
  • The guarantee that this will not happen again, thanks to the educational aspect of our intervention
  • Its registration in the OSS in a reactive manner
  • A huge relief for our client
Beware of tax adjustment

Conclusion:

Whether you are a Danish e-commerce company, or from another European Member State, be careful! You can pay VAT in good faith but it must be the VAT of the correct Member State. This is what our client learned from the business case we have just shared with you. 

For us, helping our clients to understand European VAT is essential. We would like to share our best practices with them, especially in terms of IT. Moreover, we believe that the transmission of knowledge is virtuous, and we were delighted on this occasion to learn a little more about our client's business sector.

Although the E-commerce VAT reform and the One-Stop Shop are now in force, you can still have a VAT tax audit in France over the last 4 calendar years. If you have any doubts, don't wait. The longer you wait, the higher the amount of your adjustment will be.

Authors : The FISCALEAD editorial team

Back to the top of the page

Business case : Contrôle TVA d’une société E-commerce

Imaginez que vous ayez un contrôle TVA du fisc français sur vos ventes e-commerce ? Voici ce qui pourrait se passer si vous ne vous étiez pas acquitté de la TVA française en conformité avec la règlementation. La régularisation d’opérations effectuées en France peut devenir un vrai casse-tête. Accompagner les sociétés est affaire de pédagogie.

Contrôle fiscal TVA sur vos ventes E-commerce : l’entrée en vigueur du Guichet Unique (OSS) ne vous met pas à l’abri.

Régularisation de TVA en France : L’assistance administrative fonctionne très bien !

Contexte : nous sommes avant le 1er juillet 2021 et la réforme du Guichet unique TVA E-commerce.

Fiscalead est contactée via son site internet par une société danoise. Spécialisée dans le e-commerce, cette entreprise est désemparée face à une situation qu’elle ne comprend pas. Elle a besoin d’assistance car elle doit régulariser d’urgence sa situation en matière de TVA en France. Devant cette situation, l’un de nos spécialistes la rappelle en moins de 12 h.  Pour le bien du client, il ne faut jamais perdre du temps sur une régularisation de TVA. Le risque étant d’accumuler des intérêts de retard.

Ainsi, nous organisons une conférence téléphonique. Lors de cet échange, nous comprenons que la société danoise a reçu une notification de contrôle fiscal des autorités danoises. Celle-ci portait sur ses ventes à destination de la France. La société a besoin d’éclaircir la situation, d’autant plus qu’elle effectue rigoureusement ses déclarations au Danemark, pense-t-elle. 

Suite à notre prise en main du dossier,  nous comprenons que ce contrôle était diligenté à la demande des autorités françaises. Elles se sont rapprochées de celles du Danemark. Elles ont effectué une demande d’assistance administrative concernant notre client. D’où l’appel à l’aide auprès de notre société en qualité de mandataire TVA en France.

En matière de TVA E-commerce, votre bonne foi ne suffit pas

La société avait appliqué de la TVA danoise à toutes ses ventes en ligne B2C sans distinction. Elle l’avait fait, y compris, pour celles destinées à des clients particuliers résidant en France. C’est là que fut, sans le savoir, son erreur. Avec pédagogie, Fiscalead l’a informée de ses obligations TVA en France : au-delà d’un certain seuil de CA à destination de clients particuliers français, la société aurait dû facturer la TVA française et non danoise (ndlr : règles pré-OSS). 

La société nous a confié les clés de son dossier afin de pouvoir se concentrer sur son activité. Ainsi, reprenant le dossier, le spécialiste de Fiscalead a réalisé les formalités d’immatriculation à la TVA française. En parallèle, Fiscalead l’a également inscrite au Guichet Unique au Danemark. Le but était de stopper l’hémorragie de sa non-conformité en matière de TVA.

Nous avons étudié en profondeur la proposition de rectification de comptabilité du fisc français. Pour ce faire, nous avons procédé à une revue minutieuse des rapports de vente de la société. Aussi, nous avons dû solliciter l’accès à son système d’information.

Cette double analyse a permis de réduire la base taxable :

  • des retours de marchandises 
  • des ventes B2B pour lesquelles le client avait fourni son numéro de TVA français.

Le résultat : 

  • Une baisse significative du montant du redressement fiscal 
  • La garantie que cela ne se reproduise plus, grâce à l’aspect pédagogique de notre intervention
  • Son inscription à l’OSS de manière réactive
  • Un énorme soulagement pour notre client
Attention au redressement fiscal

Conclusion :

Que vous soyez une société de e-commerce danoise, ou d’un autre Etat Membre européen, faites attention ! Vous pouvez payer laTVA en toute bonne foi mais il doit s’agir de la TVA du bon Etat Membre. C’est l’apprentissage qu’en a fait notre client dans le cadre du business case que nous venons de vous partager. 

Pour nous, aider nos clients à y voir plus clair en matière de TVA européenne est indispensable. Nous souhaitons partager avec eux nos bonnes pratiques, notamment informatiques. De plus, nous pensons que la transmission de connaissance est vertueuse, nous avons été ravis à cette occasion d’en apprendre un peu plus sur le secteur d’activité de notre client.

Si la réforme TVA E-commerce et le Guichet Unique sont aujourd’hui en application, il n’en reste pas moins que vous pouvez avoir un contrôle fiscal TVA en France sur les 4 dernières années civiles. Si vous avez le moindre doute, n’attendez pas. Plus vous attendez, plus le montant de votre redressement sera conséquent.

Auteurs : L’équipe de rédaction FISCALEAD

Retour haut de page