earth, planet, continents-2581631.jpg

Importing natural gas and electricity into France: Customs, Excise and VAT formalities

FISCALEAD import natural gas electricity in France

Gas and electricity exchanges

Identification of the actors of the sector

We are talking about two of the most sought-after energies in these troubled economic and geopolitical times... The need to source energy beyond European borders has increased due to supply difficulties - whether they are anticipated or real. But how do you complete the customs formalities for importing natural gas and electricity into France? French customs have confirmed that the network operator cannot do this on behalf of the operators, and that each operator must complete the required import customs formalities.

In addition to the reasons mentioned above, the increase in the volume of natural gas and electricity imports is also mechanical:

  • in value due to the increase in the price of these commodities;
  • in volume due in particular to the United Kingdom's exit from the European Union. Indeed, in the aftermath of the Brexit, gas and electricity purchases have become imports.

After a year 2020 in half-tone (Covid obliges, despite an increase in domestic consumption, production activities were less energy consuming), as an illustration imports into France increased by 10% in volume for electricity in 2021 compared to the year 2019.

Imports are mostly made by buyers/resellers of electricity and natural gas (energy traders) who do not import these commodities for their own consumption.

Import points in France for electricity and natural gas

These commodities are intangible goods, how do we determine their point of import?

With respect to electricity

The global electricity grid is made up of interconnectors within which the various grid operators are linked. The French electricity transmission system is linked to the grids of six other European countries: the United Kingdom, Belgium, Germany, Italy, Spain and Switzerland. When electricity is sourced from the interconnections with the UK and Swiss grids, an import declaration is required for the operator.

FISCALEAD electricity import in france and interconnection

For natural gas

A Gas Exchange Point is a virtual hub where all the players in the gas supply chain meet.

In practical terms, it allows the contracting of wholesale gas purchases and sales. It therefore serves as a link between gas producers and extractors, suppliers, distributors and transporters. The gas PEG is therefore neither more nor less than a natural gas market. This entity allows the daily organization of financial transactions in gas. In concrete terms, it is used to measure the quantity of gas injected and withdrawn from the network each day. If the PEGs are virtual marketplaces, how and where should the gas import formalities, which are still due, be carried out?

How to import natural gas and/or electricity into France?

Customs import formalities

When importing, the buyer/reseller of natural gas and/or electricity must comply with customs import formalities. The importation of these intangible goods is a specific operation that should be entrusted to a registered customs representative familiar with these products, their actors and all the inherent specificities.

In case the trader is established outside the European Union, he must appoint an indirect customs representative, or failing that a Third Party Importer or Importer of Records established in the EU.

Once the customs declarant has been identified, it will be necessary to ensure that it is able to issue an appropriate report. While the tariff species (natural gas 27111100 and electricity 27160000) and the customs origin are easily determined, the customs value also requires the expertise of the customs declarant. Basically, one can question the appropriate value to declare.

Is this the market price at the time of import or should the trader use the value of the very many sales invoices issued in a given month?

Please contact us for further information on this subject.

Excise treatment (energy taxes) on the import of gas and/or electricity

On this same import declaration, the VAT, the customs duties if necessary and the excise duties (or energy taxes respectively TICGN and TICFE) will be liquidated. To know if the TICGN and/or the TICFE will be due on importation, it is advisable to return to their generating event.

In accordance with Article 312-13 of the Code of Taxation of Goods and Services (CIBS) for coal, natural gas and electricity, the excise event is constituted by :

1° The supply in the territory of taxation of the product by one person to another person who consumes it.
2° The consumption in the territory of taxation of the product by a person who has produced or imported it in the territory of taxation or in the territory of another Member State of the European Union.

As soon as these facts are not characterized, the TICGN / TICFE excise duties are not due and your customs representative must know how to ensure that they are not applied.

And what about VAT on gas and electricity imports?

France has generalized the reverse charge of VAT on imports since January 1, 2022. Any trader established in or outside the EU who imports goods into France should register for French VAT so that his VAT number is active on the day of importation. This will allow him to self-charge the VAT on the import. Otherwise, there is no reverse charge and therefore no possibility to recover this VAT.

But, it is still necessary that the import VAT is due! If it is not, there is no need to register for VAT FR for these purposes.

Article 258 III of the CGI states that the place of delivery of natural gas and electricity is located in France only:

a. when said energy is consumed in France ;

b. in other cases, when the purchaser has in France the seat of his economic activity or a permanent establishment for which the goods are delivered or, failing that, his domicile or his habitual residence.

Thus, if the trader who imports these energies is not established in France, and since he is not an end user of the imported energy, your customs declarant must be able to ensure that import VAT is not applied on your customs declaration. Moreover, a FR VAT registration for a foreign trader should not be mandatory in this respect.

Contact us to prepare and manage all the authorizations and administrative declarations required for the import of natural gas and electricity, we master all the steps!

Back to the top of the page

earth, planet, continents-2581631.jpg

L’importation de gaz naturel et d’électricité en France : Formalités Douane, Accises et TVA

FISCALEAD importation gaz naturel électricité en France

Les échanges de gaz et électricité

Identification des acteurs du secteur

Nous parlons sans doute des deux énergies les plus prisées en ces temps économiques et géopolitiques troubles… Les besoins de se sourcer en énergie au-delà des frontières européennes ont augmenté du fait des difficultés d’approvisionnement – qu’elles soient anticipées ou réelles. Mais comment réaliser les formalités douanières d’importation de gaz naturel et d’électricité en France ? Les douanes françaises ont confirmé que le gestionnaire de réseau ne pouvait pas le faire pour le compte des opérateurs, et que chacun d’entre eux devait remplir les formalités douanières d’importation requises.

Au-delà des raisons précitées, l’augmentation du volume des importations de gaz naturel et d’électricité est également mécanique :

  • en valeur du fait de l’augmentation du prix de ces commodités ;
  • en volume du fait notamment de la sortie de l’Union européenne du Royaume-Uni. En effet, au lendemain du Brexit les acquisitions de gaz et électricité sont devenues des importations.

Après une année 2020 en demi-teinte (Covid oblige, en dépit d’une augmentation des consommations domestiques, les activités de production ont été moins consommatrices d’énergies), à titre d’illustration les importations en France ont augmenté de 10% en volume pour l’électricité en 2021 par rapport à l’année 2019.

Les importations sont majoritairement réalisées par les acheteurs / revendeurs d’électricité et de gaz naturel (les traders d’énergie) qui n’importent pas ces commodités pour leur propre consommation.

Points d’importation en France d’électricité et de gaz naturel

Ces commodités sont des biens intangibles, comment déterminer leur point d’importation ?

S’agissant de l’électricité

Le réseau électrique mondial est fait d’interconnecteurs au sein desquels les différents « grids operators » (soit les gestionnaires de réseaux nationaux) sont liés. Le réseau de transport d’électricité français est relié aux réseaux de six autres pays européens : le Royaume-Uni, la Belgique, l’Allemagne, l’Italie, l’Espagne et la Suisse. Dès lors que l’électricité provient des interconnexions avec les réseaux britanniques et suisses, une déclaration d’importation est requise pour l’opérateur.

FISCALEAD importation électricité en france et interconnexion

S’agissant du gaz naturel

Un Point d’Échange de Gaz est un hub virtuel sur lequel se retrouvent tous les acteurs de la chaîne d’approvisionnement du gaz.

De manière pratique, il permet de contractualiser les achats et ventes de gaz en gros. Il sert donc de lien entre les producteurs et extracteurs de gaz, les fournisseurs, les distributeurs et les transporteurs. Le PEG de gaz n’est donc ni plus ni moins qu’un marché du gaz du naturel. Cette entité permet d’organiser au quotidien les transactions financières en matière de gaz. Concrètement, il sert à mesurer la quantité de gaz injectée et soutirée chaque jour sur le réseau. Si les PEG sont des places de marché virtuelles, comment et où convient-il de réaliser les formalités d’importation du gaz, qui demeurent dues ?

Comment importer du gaz naturel et/ou de l’électricité en France ?

Formalités douanières d’importation

Dès lors qu’il réalise des importations, l’acheteur/revendeur de gaz naturel et/ou électricité doit s’acquitter des formalités douanières d’importation. L’importation de ces biens intangibles est une opération spécifique qu’il convient de confier à un représentant en douane enregistré familier de ces produits, leurs acteurs et toutes les spécificités inhérentes.

Dans le cas où le trader est établi en dehors de l’Union européenne, il doit nommer un représentant en douane indirect, ou à défaut un Importateur Tiers ou Importer of Records établi dans l’UE.

Une fois le déclarant en douane identifié, il conviendra de s’assurer de la capacité à émettre un reporting approprié. Si l’espèce tarifaire (gaz naturel 27111100 et électricité 27160000) et l’origine douanière sont facilement déterminables, la valeur en douane nécessite là aussi toute l’expertise du déclarant en douane. Fondamentalement, l’on peut s’interroger sur la valeur appropriée à déclarer.

Est-ce le prix de marché au moment de l’importation ou bien le trader doit-il utiliser la valeur des très nombreuses factures de ventes émises sur un mois donné ?

Contactez-nous pour toute demande de précision sur ce sujet.

Traitement accises (taxes énergétiques) à l’importation du gaz et/ou de l’électricité

Sur cette même déclaration d’importation, seront liquidés la TVA, les droits de douane le cas échéant et les droit d’accises (ou taxes énergétiques respectivement TICGN et TICFE). Pour savoir si la TICGN et/ou la TICFE seront dues l’importation, il convient de revenir à leur fait générateur.

Conformément à l’article 312-13 du Code des Impositions des Biens et des Services (CIBS) pour les charbons, les gaz naturels et l’électricité, le fait générateur de l’accise est constitué par :

1° La fourniture sur le territoire de taxation du produit par une personne à une autre personne qui le consomme.
2° La consommation sur le territoire de taxation du produit par une personne qui l’a produit ou importé sur le territoire de taxation ou sur le territoire d’un autre Etat membre de l’Union européenne.

Dès lors que ces faits générateurs ne sont pas caractérisés, les droits d’accises TICGN / TICFE ne sont pas dus et votre représentant en douane doit savoir s’assurer de leur non application.

Et quid de la TVA à l’importation du gaz et de l’électricité ?

La France a généralisé l’autoliquidation de la TVA à l’importation depuis le 1er janvier 2022. Tout opérateur établi dans ou dehors de l’UE, qui réalise une importation en France a intérêt à s’immatriculer à la TVA française afin que son numéro de TVA soit actif au jour de son importation. Cela lui permettra d’autoliquider la TVA à l’importation. A défaut, pas d’autoliquidation et donc pas de possibilité de récupérer cette TVA.

Mais, encore faut-il que la TVA à l’importation soit due ! Si elle ne l’est pas, nul besoin de s’immatriculer à la TVA FR à ces fins.

Or, l’article 258 III du CGI dispose que le lieu de livraison du gaz naturel et de l’électricité est situé en France uniquement :

a. lorsque lesdites énergies sont consommées en France ;

b. dans les autres cas, lorsque l’acquéreur a en France le siège de son activité économique ou un établissement stable pour lequel les biens sont livrés ou, à défaut, son domicile ou sa résidence habituelle.

Ainsi, si le trader qui importe ces énergies n’est pas établi en France, et dès lors qu’il n’est pas un utilisateur final de l’énergie importée, votre déclarant en douane doit savoir s’assurer de la non application de la TVA à l’importation sur votre déclaration en douane. Par ailleurs, une immatriculation à la TVA FR pour un trader étranger ne devrait pas être obligatoire à cet égard.

Contactez-nous pour préparer et gérer toutes les autorisations et déclarations administratives requises en matière d’importation de gaz naturel et électricité, nous en maîtrisons tous les rouages !

Retour haut de page